Arrested for Drunk Driving in North Carolina?
DWI laws in North Carolina are some of the strictest in the country. The North Carolina Department of Transportation's "Booze it and lose it" campaign has contributed to the no tolerance attitudes held by law enforcement. If you have been charged with a DWI in North Carolina, it's extremely important that you contact a drunk driving defense attorney right away.
North Carolina Drunk Driving Laws
Although North Carolina law allows DWI suspects the right to refuse chemical testing of their blood or breath, the evidence of that refusal is admissible against the defendant in court. If you are convicted of drunk driving in North Carolina, it's important that you contact a DWI lawyer immediately. The punishment for each conviction is as follows:
- Punishment for first conviction: Mandatory license revocation for one year and a fine of up to $2,000, anywhere from 24 hours to 24 months of imprisonment, 24 hours of community service and 30 days without a limited driving privilege.
- Punishment for second conviction: Mandatory license revocation for four years, if the conviction is within three years of the first offense.
- Punishment for third conviction: Mandatory permanent driver's license revocation if either of the prior convictions occurred within the past five years, a $2,000 fine, and anywhere from 14 days to 24 months of imprisonment.
- Punishment for fourth conviction: This is considered a felony if the three prior convictions occurred within the past seven years. The result is mandatory permanent driver's license revocation, one to three years of imprisonment and a fine.
To speak with a Winston-Salem DWI defense attorney who can explain your rights, contact the attorneys at the Law Office of Ashley Cannon, at 336-793-1013.