Getting You Back on the Road in North Carolina

There are different forms of license suspension and a variety of reasons why your driver's license could be suspended. In North Carolina, driving is considered a privilege, not a right. If your license is suspended, you lose your privilege to drive a motor vehicle for the length of the suspension. For many people, this can be extremely inconvenient when getting to work or school, taking care of children or attending to daily tasks that involve travel.

Reasons why your North Carolina driver's license might be suspended include the following:

  • Excessive moving violations: The state of North Carolina uses a point system, in which drivers accumulate points on their licenses each time they commit a moving violation. After accumulating 12 or more points in a three-year period, your license will be suspended.
  • Driving under the influence: If you are found guilty of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs, your license will be suspended. The length of suspension depends upon the severity of the violation and whether or not it is a repeat offense.
  • Driving without insurance: All motor vehicles driven in North Carolina must be insured. Your license could be suspended if you fail to provide proof of valid auto insurance.
  • Other driving-related violations: This could include engaging in reckless driving, abandoning your vehicle on a public highway or participating in high-speed racing on the highway.
  • Speeding: Two charges of driving above 55 mph by at least 15 mph in a one-year period will result in suspension of your license.

If you refuse to take the breath test or a blood test after being arrested, or you choose to take the test and the results are over .08, there's an immediate 30-day civil revocation; however, I can get you back on the road in 10 days instead of 30.

If your license has been suspended, I can make a difference in gaining limited driving privileges and taking advantage of your right to a hearing in order to reinstate your license as soon as that option becomes available. After three convictions, the suspension is called permanent, but you have the option to a hearing after three years, when you may be able to reinstate it.

Contact an Experienced Defense Attorney Today

It's important that you have a driver's license suspension lawyer who understands the process and can get you back on the road as soon as possible. Contact me at Ashley Cannon, Attorney at Law, PLLC, at 888-862-5901 to find out how I can assist you. I have an office in Statesville.