Understanding North Carolina DWI Laws
DWI laws in North Carolina are some of the strictest in the country. The North Carolina Department of Transportation’s “Booze It & Lose It” campaign has contributed to the no-tolerance attitudes held by law enforcement. If you have been charged with a DWI in North Carolina, it’s extremely important that you contact a drunk driving defense attorney right away.
To speak with us about mounting a DWI defense, call us at 704-872-7438. We have an office in Iredell County.
North Carolina Drunk Driving Laws
Although North Carolina law allows DWI suspects the right to refuse chemical testing of their blood or breath, the evidence of that refusal is admissible against the defendant in court. If you are convicted of drunk driving in North Carolina, it’s important that you contact a DWI defense lawyer immediately. The punishment for each conviction is as follows:
- Punishment for first conviction: There is a mandatory license revocation for one year and a fine of up to $2,000, anywhere from 24 hours to 24 months of imprisonment, 24 hours of community service and 30 days without a limited driving privilege.
- Punishment for second conviction: There is a mandatory license revocation for four years, if the conviction is within three years of the first offense.
- Punishment for third conviction: There is a mandatory permanent driver’s license revocation if either of the prior convictions occurred within the past five years, a $2,000 fine, and anywhere from 14 days to 24 months of imprisonment.
- Punishment for fourth conviction: This is considered a felony if the three prior convictions occurred within the past seven years. The result is mandatory permanent driver’s license revocation, one to three years of imprisonment and a fine.
Contact An Attorney If You Have Been Charged With Drunk Driving
Don’t put your driving privileges at risk because of a DWI conviction. Call 704-872-7438 to schedule an appointment at our Statesville office. You may also contact us online.