The state of North Carolina does not take drug crimes lightly. However, when it comes to offenses involving marijuana, the consequences of conviction may not be as severe as they would be for offenses involving other types of drugs. What exactly are the state's marijuana laws?
For the most part, North Carolina is working to decriminalize the possession of marijuana. As it currently stands, individuals who are found carrying less than a half ounce of the drug will only face a misdemeanor charge and a fine of $200 if convicted. For anything between 0.5 and 1.5 ounces, one may be required to spend a short amount of time in jail -- anywhere between one and 45 days -- and have to pay a $1,000 fine if convicted. Possession may reach felony-level status if an individual is found carrying 1.5 ounces to 10 pounds of the drug.
Trafficking is where the state is really tough on marijuana-related drug crimes. To be charged with trafficking, one must be found carrying 10 or more pounds of the drug. If convicted, one may face anywhere from 25 months to 219 months behind bars and fines up to $200,000.
While laws regarding marijuana-related drug crimes are always changing, depending on the specific details of one's case, the current laws which are in place can still have a significant impact on one's life. North Carolina residents who are accused of marijuana-related drug crimes do have the right to defend themselves in a court of law. This, of course, is not something that they have to do alone. With the assistance of an experienced criminal defense attorney, they can make informed decisions regarding the best way to handle their cases.
Source: FindLaw, "North Carolina Marijuana Laws", Accessed on Aug. 16, 2017